weekend update

soaking sun
I LOVE having people visit me. The farm is plenty big enough for company and I was born to cater parties and make people welcome.
So D’Bear and I had some friends from “the city” down for a country weekend. They are younger than us by almost 10 years. She’s 47 and he’s just turned 40 ( bless his heart! he’s a boy toy!) They always act so excited to come to the farm and go biking and kayaking and hiking and of course drinking, smoking, and eating!

They arrived Friday and, while they are lovely and friendly and sweet and complimentary, they are also lazy!! I kept asking if anyone wanted to GO DO SOMETHING but all I kept hearing was ” maybe later…” and “Nah, I’m enjoying just lying in the sun” (as they ate the quesadillas and homemade pizzas I prepared.)

While I enjoy lying in the sun doing nuffin’ as much as the next middle-aged woman, I also get the screamin’ meemies after a day or two of sunworshipping and magazine reading and eating and drinking. I NEED to MOVE IT! No one wanted anything to do with activity. NADA!
ScreamingWoman1_300H

OK, that’s cool. I busted my nut trying to make this a weekend get-away to remember but I really think the only thing they’re gonna remember is the vaguest memory of a hangover on Monday! I mean, after all the posturing about fitness that he does (he goes to the gym 6 days a week) and the comments about how cool it would be to kayak out on our local lakes or bike along the river, I made sure the bikes were in good shape, I pumped up all the tires, oiled the chains, checked the gears, etc. I loaded the kayaks in the bed of the old Dodge pick up so that we could be on the water in 15 minutes or less. I even found lots of extra gear like hiking boots and hiking poles, flotation devices, water bottles, old sneakers and water shoes, back packs, and so on. The weather was more than adequate for any of these activities most of the long Memorial Day weekend.

I never really expected D’Bear to go kayaking. He doesn’t really like the water and doesn’t swim well. She has been working crazy hours and I know she needed some plain old down time but HIM!
workout
Oh, well. I can feel pretty good about myself now when I am sitting on D’Bear’s porch of an evening and he walks past in his workout clothes being all Mr. I-Am-Going-To-The-Y-Now-But-You-Are-Too-Lazy-To-Go-With. HAHAHA!!!

I could probably kick his ass if I needed to.