where you been???

farmtown

It seems that more and more these days my wordpress friends and I have let blogs lapse in favor of less cerebral activities. I know I barely have time to work on my Farm Town farm what with all the hiring and cultivating and planting and upgrading! It takes time!

I did not know that I was such a Farm Town Hoe until last weekend when I turned to my sweet D’Bear with such a look of alarm and said “Oh, shit! I bet my crops have gone to hell on Farm Town!” This was said in the middle of our annual garage sale. I had been so involved with setting up the sale, getting the house ready for guests (4th of July weekend visitors), and actually running the sale that I had no time to even look at my poor old (but beautiful) virtual farm.

Luckily no crops withered because I am a smart Farm Town Hoe! I planted crops that need three days or more to ripen for harvest!! Yippee!!

 So what have I been doing in the meantime besides playing stupid FaceBook games and running around my house gathering every unnecessary knick knack to throw on the garage sale tables?

 Well, I spent a crazy weekend in Rochester with my honey D’Bear where we went to the Taste of Rochester Festival and ate and drank ourselves into a stupor while dancing in the street to some good free bands! That was fun!

We also took a long Sunday drive around Seneca Lake and enjoyed some great Fingerlakes wines at the wineries.  I bought some wines at Damiani Vineyards, Shaw Vineyard, and a few others I have very little recollection of after Rasta Ranch Vineyards where the hippie-dippie ambiance just forces you to buy wines like Piece of My Heart and Uncle Homer’s Red.

Rasta Ranch's fine wine!

Rasta Ranch's fine wine!

I have been enjoying spending time with my new grandson, Ryan. He is almost 2 months old now and oh my gosh! He just smiles and coos and burbles in the most sweet and adorable way! What a good baby he is! Lucky for his mother (my daughter) he is nothing like his older brother in temperament! That fiery three-year-old can make a person tired just watching him!

 Other than that, let’s see, … OH! D’Bear and I will be celebrating our 2-year anniversary on the 13th of July! We met on July 13, 2007 after meeting on a dating site! We’ve been together ever since.

Overlooking Lake Placid, NY

Overlooking Lake Placid, NY

I think we may be heading over to the Adirondacks, Lake Placid specifically, for a romantic weekend of hiking, shopping, dining, drinking wine, and …..well, never mind! Some things are better left to the imagination.

15 comments on “where you been???

  1. I’m all for the Hikes and wine drinking, LOL.

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

    Raven- Love the name!

    Yes, hiking and wine are very memory-inducing for us. My first “high peak” climb D’Bear brought along wine and two glasses and we toasted my success! I will always remember that moment.

    Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to comment!

  2. That’s a cheeky looking collection of wines. Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary.

    Anja- They are VERY cheeky wines! Diane and her daughter and son make Rasta Ranch a must-see for any Finger Lakes wine tour! They are so friendly and the wines are unpretentious and fun, just like the owners.

    Thanks for that “congrats”, love. I think we’re in it for the long haul, D’Bear and I, despite some different viewpoints. ❤

  3. FarmTown HOE!!! BaaaWaahahahaha..I love that. I guess I’m right there with ya. I wouldn’t even have a garage sale if it meant sacrificing my farm!! LOL!!!

    I’m so glad things are going so well for you and your weekend sounded wonderful. I hope you have a great anniversary weekend. It all sounds great.

    My oldest grandson is 9 today following my oldest granddaughter will be 9 next month and my baby will be 5 in two weeks. Man, where in the hell does the time go? Have fun with them grandma, this is such a great age and it passes so quickly.

    Joy- Time is the biggest bastid! Since I am only 29 years old it is virtually impossible that I have 4 kids aged 39, 36, 33, and 31 respectively! Impossible!

    Thanks for your kind words, dear friend!

  4. Trisha, I’m so glad you are enjoying FARM TOWN. Sounds like the garage sale was a complete success! Oh, I cannot wait to have a grand child someday *in my dreams* – I think being a mom is the best thing that’s ever happened to me. So, you can imagine my delight when I close my eyes and envision myself holding my very own grand baby! I am going to spoil that kid rotten! FOR SURE!

    Congrats on the 2 year anniversary! How cool that you met on a dating site… and you’re still going strong- I’m really happy for you!

    Love you sweet thang!
    xoxoxo
    Anne

    JQ- Being a grandparent is life’s reward for ..I dunno, for making it out alive? .. surviving?.. just being a parent?? Whatever it IS a reward and a blessing!!!! Thanks for your good and kind words, dear heart!! Love ya!

  5. AAww Happy Anniversary! Sounds like you’ve been having fun. Glad your farm town crops survived.Farm Town Hoe, so funny. Glad your enjoying your sweet grand baby. Life is good.Hope you have a great weekend.

    Starla- Fun , fun, fun!!! I Love summer!!!!!
    Life IS good, my friend!!! I hope you’re having a blast, too!

  6. I’m looking for a 10 step program for FB….seems there are quite a few of us running around…but I want pumpkins dammit!!
    Only another 2314 points to go…not that I’m counting of course!
    :mrgreen:

    anonymum- Are ya there yet?? FarmTown!!!! Woot Woot!!!!

  7. Hmmmm, wine by the jug! Tasteeee!
    Hope it’s better than “Caulkin’s Creek”
    That’s a beautiful shot of the water. Glad you all had fun!

    Dobeman- Oh hells yeah!!! It has that extra-special hippie stink your sister C. loves so much!!!!

  8. You are friggin hilarious!!! I’m beginning to think I’m too forgetful or scatterbrained to be a farmer. Thank goodness, it’s a virtual farm!
    That wine looks mighty good! And dancing in the street to a live band?? Girl I am jealous and just might go to the street dance Toby & Sue go to every year! I’ve never been to one, one that is fun anyway!
    You met De’Bear on a dating site? That is awesome, my Aunt did the same thing and have been married for a few years now! Congrats my friend! 🙂

    Nikki- I highly recommend street dancing as a way of releasing your inner child… or inner slut or some such thing but regardless it’s SO much fun!!! 😛

    Yep, D’Bear and I met on LavaLife Prime two years ago!! It’s a family tradition.My daughter Birdpress met her huz on-line. My dear son Dobeman met his wife of many years on-line and now Mom gets her turn!!!

    Thanks for your sweet words, Nikki!!!

  9. Hi! My name is Just a Mom and I am a Farm Town addict myself! I am not as deep as some people I know, but I am an addict none the less!

    I met my husband on an online dating site 11 years ago! Stupid internet site… 🙂

    Just A Mom- Howdy!! Thanks for stopping in to say hello! Yes, FT is an addiction. I have the biggest piece of real estate they allow and I WANT MORE!!!!! LOL

    You are funny! I’ll be by to check out your blog!!

  10. Ah Farmtown, how I love thee, let me count the ways……. And most of my lifestyle block friends love it too !!!!

    I went of blogging a bit after a recent incident, but am getting back into it.

    Happy belated anniversary and Ryan sounds a wonderful distraction from the internet !!!

    widdleshamrock- Yes, I find that lately I just have nothing to say. 😛

    You, on the other hand, find myriad ways to keep me reading and chuckling and commiserating! Thanks, WS!

Leave a Reply

