Dobeman has a BIRTHDAY

birth When he was born,in 1973, I was in an Army hospital in a now-closed Army base. I was pretty sick. I had pre-eclampsia and my blood pressure was creeping up hourly. The doctors decided to induce labor.

I insisted I did NOT want anesthesia. I wanted my baby born free of any chemicals, alert and and as healthy as I could make him. They patted me on the head and told me, in the nicest *cough* Army way, that they would do what they felt best. Can you say patronizing?

 Then they had a sadistic ,woman-hatingnurse come and shave my entire pubal region with a cold basin of water and a rusty razor. After that I got a lovely enema and was told to “void when you feel you really need to”.

It was fun, let me tell you. Nine months pregnant, guts filled with soapy water, in labor and all alone. I had just turned 19 years-old.

 Lying in that sterile labor room by myself, no radio, no TV, no one to hold my hand through the contractions, I decided to be proactive for what was probably the first time in my life. For my baby. I began to push a little with each hard contraction and left alone for most of the next two hours I was not told I couldn’t or shouldn’t.

 The next time the nurse came to check me I told her I thought the baby was coming. “Oh, don’t be silly. You have a long way to go yet” she said in her most condescending voice. Then she checked my status and her mouth fell open. “Oh, my God! ” and she ran to get another nurse to help wheel me to the delivery room.

I gave birth to “Dobeman” on the labor room bed.

He was a healthy and beautiful baby. Do I hear a TA -DAAAA!!!

He’s still beautiful and with the exception of having some back problems and some wicked sinus issues he’s still healthy.

He’s the father of two of his own beautiful boys and he and his wife are pregnant with my new grandchild who is due in August.

 HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my son. I love you. You are the best Mother’s Day gift in the world.

8 comments on “Dobeman has a BIRTHDAY

  1. Happy birthday Dobeman. It’s so scary that first time and your conditions STUNK to high heaven. Happy mother’s day to you and I’m still thinking of your daughter.

    Joy- Thanks, Love!! Unfortunately, that was not my first time. The first time I was 16 and it was worse! Much worse!
    Ahh, the joys of becoming a mother. 😀

    Happy Mother’s Day to YOU!!

  2. I’m the opposite. I’ll take any pain relief I can get, thank you very much. If that makes me a wimp, then wimp I shall be.

  3. Happy Birthday and Happy Mothers Day!!!! You are amazing and extremely brave, there is a lot to be proud of just in that one story. I am honored to know you.

  4. Now that was sweet & loving enough to put tears in my eyes. All of it.

    I love that you figured out how to win in a no-win situation:) F*ckers!

    I’m thinking you could probably write a book about the number of times you’ve somehow managed to do this. Just a feeling I have:)

Leave a Reply

