take my nose….please.

My Neti Pot is my friend. neti12Don’t know what a Neti Pot is? Click here.

My sinuses have been on overdrive for about two weeks, getting worse daily. I feel like someone went into  my nose with a vacuum hose and, blocking off parts around my eyes, turn it on to “high”. The pressure is awful.

**whine wimper whine*

sneezing_xsmallI went through an entire box of Kleenex in the last 12 hours.

I need to mow my lawn and also five acres of fields. Zyrtec works somewhat but the unfortunate side effects for me are sleeplessness. The last time I took one I didn’t sleep a wink the entire next night.

I love spring.

9 comments on “take my nose….please.

  1. Oh, I am so sorry about your allergies! I really feel for people who can’t thoroughly enjoy spring because of what it does to their sinuses. I hope you can get some relief. On the other hand, I do hear so many good things about those Neti Pots. My niece got one and she has started using it. Feel well, soon!

    Teeni- Thanks, Hon!! Today seems a bit better, actually. Maybe the rain is helping?!? Yes, my Neti pot does feel like it works. I’ve used it for several years now and I should use it more often. Maybe I could head these sinus infections off if I were more pro-active.

  2. I have a Neti Pot. I also have ear candles. Have you ever used ear candles? There certainly is a lot of good natural remedies.

    Joan- I have never used ear candles. They freak me out for some reason. Some people feel the same way about the Neti Pot so it’s just a personal thing. LOL
    I hate taking pharmaceuticals if I can avoid them!

  3. I hope you get better soon. I never had allergies until about 15 years ago…then for like the first 5 years we lived out here I was miserable during the spring. Then like 3 years ago or longer I stopped suffering. Dont’ know what happened. Whenever the farmer behind us plowed my head would just blow up with snot. He still plows but I don’t suffer. Kind of strange.
    I got 2 theories. Either going to a chiro helps with that too…OR my lungs and head are so full of cat hair/dog hair/bird feathers etc there isn’t room for the other allergy stuff.

    I hope you find some relief some how!!!

    JJ- Thank you, you sweet thang!
    LMAO too much pet hair/feather/etc!! You may be onto something there actually. I have read that children raised in homes with pets have fewer incidences of allergies later on.

  4. Aww Trisha, must be awful !!!!

    Hope you find some relief soon.

    Widdleshamrock- Thanks, love. It’s a little better now. I think the nasal spray was making it worse!!!

  5. Don’t stick with the Zyrtec if it isn’t working. Ther are plenty of other options out there. Speak to your chemist or doctor.

    River- Thanks, hon, I didn’t. That stuff whacked the hell out!! I may have to resort to more meds but I am trying to go without.
    You are so sweet
    . 🙂

  6. I got one about a month ago and LOVE it! The first time I used it, for the first 2 seconds it almost felt like I got water in my nose while swimming or something, a bit uncomfortable.. quickly followed by an “Ahhhhhh!” as it just loved up my nasal passages. AHHHHHHHHHHHH! Totally worth the $10- I have had sinus issues since the WEEK BEFORE CHRISTMAS- they put me on steroids last week and ordered a CT scan of my sinus’s – I just have to call to schedule it! I know EXACTLY what you are going through. Netti Pot and Claritin… and also gobs of Mucinex. Sinus pain and pressure- the headaches are the absolute worst…. tylenol and advil cannot even touch it- I had to hit my mom up for a few fiorinol (migraine meds-) AAACK! I think I’ll go home this morning and use my neti pot 😉 I haven’t been using it as of late…. kinda forgot about it….FEEL BETTER!

    Javaqueen- I knew you hadn’t been feeling well but I had no idea what you were going through!! You poor baby!! Yours sounds much worse than mine! I have flair-ups but your on-going sinus deal sounds terrible!
    One thing I found is that using nasal spray before bed was causing a terrible rebound of inflammation in my sinuses. I stopped using it and I am about 50% better!
    I really hope you kick this thing, sweety!!

  7. I feel for you with the allergy problems. I’m sitting here right now sneezing and watery eyes. I don’t think I could do the Neti pot though. I don’t think I could pour water into my nose.

    Gary- I thought that, too! Then I gave in and tried it and guess what?! It’s not bad!! It feels funny at first but once you get the hang of it it’s not weird at all!! And it seems to help!
    And Baby, I feel for ya. Feel better, OK?

  8. Ah, man, I’m so sorry for your misery! My son has the same problem and it just kills me. I’ve tried convincing him to use Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar in varied ways, cause it is supposed to make it better. You might want to check out their website or books, even though he is positive I’m full of shit:)

    Pam- Thanks, Gal! I will check it out!! Hey, when the nose gets this bad, I am willing to try any old thing!! LOL

  9. Yeah, use a Neti Pot, they are so good, if you don’t have a Neti Pot, you can use an empty tomato sauce bottle or something with a nozzle. Yes, it feels horrible having water gush through your sinuses, but it really cleans them out!

Leave a Reply

