By Dose is Stuff D’Up

Yes, this really is my nose. Count the pores....

Yes, this really is my nose. Count the pores....

This is so random and pathetic. My brain isn’t working up to capacity but I am blaming the cold medicine.

    I got a lousy cold. I just know it’s from some snotty-nosed person touching the same shopping cart as me. I am going to turn into one of those germophobes. I just know it.

According to one source ( and this will gross you the fuck out) “University of Arizona scientist Dr. Charles Gerba, who’s made a name for himself as a top “germ cop,” says kids in carts only add to the problem.

“Many of them are diaper age and don’t have good sanitary habits. You’re putting your broccoli right where your kid’s butt was,”said Gerba in an interview this month on Good Morning America.”

AGHHHH!!!!!!!!!!  YUCKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There are lots of intelligent folks with germ phobias: Mandy Moore, Howie Mandel, Simon Cowell, the late Howard Hughes, to count a few. I am going to count myself among them. I think I’m in good company.

Before I got sick,this was my week:

I returned to PA from Rochester amidst a snowy white-out. I arrived home, threw some wood into the woodstove to warm up my house and while I was making dinner I saw this little fellow:pb110360
This little deer was looking for more apples. The apple tree unfortunately is now bare. There were several who came every evening to scarf up the windfalls.

I don’t know if this is a “she” or just a young “he”, pre-antlers. I just call it “cute”.

 

I also caught one solitary wild turkey “gobbling” up the stale bread I threw out . I sadly did not get a picture. You’ll have to take my word for it.

I had a couple of pumpkins that came up voluntarily in my garden. I decided to make pumpkin butter so I roasted them and then pureed them. I then cooked them with some pumpkin pie spices, brown sugar, a bit of apple juice and some orange zest and then some toasted pecans, chopped. The results were spectacular! I almost hate to give the stuff away but I think it will make a great Thanksgiving gift! Two medium-sized pumpkins reduced to this:pb210390

 

 

It is SO good on toast or English muffins or scones!

Or, as I most enjoy it, just me and a spoon!

 

 

 

 

 

I head back to D’Bear tomorrow if my cold isn’t too bad. I love it there. I have some “wildlife” there that I also enjoy. There are at least three feral cats that my soft-hearted  D’Bear feeds daily. They won’t let us come too close but they have come to expect a daily supply of kitty kibble which we dutifully supply. Here is one of them:pb150383

 He thinks he’s hiding!

I call him and his partner “the meatloafs” because they look alike and they often sit with their bodies all bunched up into a meatloaf shape in the driveway! Isn’t he the cutest fellow?

 

 

 

 

The neighbors have a pretty kitty that I often chat with through the window. Her name is Marley and she is quite the little princess.pb150384

 

She loves the attention because her mommy and daddy work all day and she doesn’t like to be left alone.

We have incredible conversations, she and I.

Me: Hey, Marley, what’s up?”

Her: “Get in here and scratch my neck, you lowly peon! I am bored!”

I’m off to take some more DayQuil. And there’s a book waiting to be read.  Or maybe a nap……….See ya.

21 comments on “By Dose is Stuff D’Up

  1. Aw, I hope you feel better. How sweet of you to leave us such cute and lovely pics when you aren’t even feeling up to your old self. I love that you and D’Bear love animals. 🙂 Yuck about the germs and the kids in carts. I bought myself a little market basket for my produce that fits right in that space where a kid would go in the shopping cart so my food actually never makes contact with the cart. A great Christmas Tree Shop Find and it saves on bags because I bring my own! Feel better soon! Sending good energy your way.

    teeni- I want one of those market baskets! We go to the Christmas Tree Shop all the time. How did I miss that? I’m going to look for it next time. That could be the sleeper gift of 2008! I may have to get everyone on my list one if I can find it! Thanks for that tip!
    Thanks for your sweet wishes. I am sure to be better soon with all the lovin’ I’m getting
    .
    😀

  2. The old rhinovirus is a bitch, indeed. Get well soon. Those kitties are gorgeous.

    Anja- Thank you, my sweet friend. Yeah, cute kitties. I loves them!

  3. Sorry you’re feeling poopy. Get better soon! If it’s any consolation, I’ve been sick for the past 5 days…with some nasty inner ear thingy which makes me feel like I’m on a ship…during a hurricane. And reading that bit about kids & shopping carts just put me over the edge. Baaaarffff!

    Marley certainly looks like a princess. Poor girl, no one to play with all day long. Hmmm. Now I feel guilty and should probably get my solitary cat a playmate.

    Have a great time in Rachacha!

    2LD- Ooo, sorry to hear about that inner ear infection. A friend of mine got one of those and ended up with long-term vertigo. I hope that doesn’t happen for you! Get well, Love!
    Doesn’t your ketteh play with your doggers?
    Off to Rachacha! Ta! Here’s hoping I’m past the contagious phase! D’Bear is not a pleasant person when sick.
    🙂

  4. sorry you are sick. I am really hoping that you get to be with the D’bear, I am emailing you back now but, no stress on a reply! I love you! and really hope that you get better soon.

    Kaylee- You are so sweet! Thanks for the nice words, darlin’! I love you, too!

  5. I hope you feel better. Now I am glad I drive a cripple cart. At least you don’t see kids in them. They are probably still germy though.

    The pumpkin butter looks really good.

    Damon did run into a whole mess of snow on his way to Syracuse. He is now in Greenville, North Carolina for the night. He’s not 100% sure where he is headed tomorrow.

    Joan- I’m glad Damon got there safely! We are getting more snow tonight, up to 4 more inches! What the heck is going on here? It has been unseasonably cold and already I’m sick of winter! Well, it can stay till after Christmas but then it has to go! 😆

  6. I way ahead of you lady. I started coming down with my cold last Friday, and I’m just now starting to feel better. I’m hoping to be 100% by Monday. I hope you’re way ahead of me in the recovery department. Being sick sucks.

    I’m so jealous of your dear and turkeys in the yard, but I can do without the wild cats. I’ve been around some that are just crawling with fleas. That grosses me out more than germy shopping carts.

    I’ve heard in the past that women’s restrooms have more germs than men’s, for the same reason the carts are so germy. Women tend to be the ones taking the little kids to the restroom while out in public, and with the kids come the microscopic critters.

    Take care of yourself and I hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Spidey- What’s going on? SOOO many people sick! I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better but I’m sorry it took so long. Yes. Being sick sucks donkey balls!

    I love my crazy wild animals here. I have turkey, deer, bears,woodchucks, rabbits, bobcats, coyotes, and occasionally eagles. I saw a beautiful bald eagle last spring soaring over the pond. It was majestic!

    I don’t pet the feral cats. I would be leery of fleas the same as you. Fleas gross me out. I just like seeing them out there day after day. They look very healthy!

    Here’s to you feeling all better BEFORE Monday! Hugs!!

  7. Get better soon. If the Dayquil doesn’t work then switch to Tequila. You will still be sick but you won’t care about it.

    Evyl- I was just getting ready for bed when I read your comment. I am going back downstairs for a tequila toddy. I am out of Nyquil and I need my coughing, sneezing, headachey, fever medicine…TEQUILA!

  8. Colds suck. I’m knocking on wood, because I’ve been spared so far. 🙂 Get better, will ya?

    SLF- You are so kind.I’m glad you’ve been spared. Today is the worst, so far. I feel like I’ve been hit by a fast-moving truck! 😯

  9. nothing like kitty love without the mess 😉

    feel better soon hon 🙂

    Mistress B- Now that you put it like that, you’re SO right! I didn’t think of the fact that I like them more ’cause I don’t have to clean the stinking litter box or look at their nasty furballs!! 😀
    Thanks. B. You are such a honey.

  10. I’m sorry about your stuffy dose. That is bad. I hope I dont catch anything from the hackers in my office- there are no windows in here- just re-circulated germs. I didn’t know you could can spreads and stuff- I always wished I could make my own pickles, etc. Very neat Trisha! A woman of many talents. I hope you feel better soon…. I feel bad, but it’s mentally – pms 😦 BOO HISS!

  11. See now, this is why I take my own grocery bags to the supermarket. My groceries never touch the trolley. (cart). If it’s cold and flu season I take a wet wipe with me and wipe the trolley handle before I start shopping.
    Those cats are beautiful.

    river- Oh, Baby, from now on I am doing just that! I so want to wear a Michael Jackson face mask, too! I carry that disinfectant gel and I use it but I wish I didn’t have to think about all of the places their germs lurk, like door handles and MONEY! Yuck!

  12. So sorry you have the sicks. I love these photos– so sweet! I’ll have to keep going back to them, to get the poopy-diaper-butt-where-my-broccoli-goes image out of my head.

    Hope you feel better soon– have a great weekend with D’Bear!

    (Pumpkin butter sounds deLIcious!)

    MMcQ- Thanks, love! I am hoping this crappy cold goes away as soon as possible. I am missing time with my sweet D’Bear because I don’t want him catching this.
    Yes, that “poopy-diaper-butt-where-my-broccoli-goes” image is forever etched in my widdle brain, too. Oh, yuck. I’m going to be that crazy lady everyone points at (it’s a small town) who carries a can of Lysol spray with her and uses it on everything within reach! 😆
    I hope you have a great weekend, too!! Love to Theo!!

  13. Good Grief. I will never be comfortable putting my fresh veggies on the shopping cart-butt-seat ever again!

    In fact I will need to carry Clorox wipes in my purse from now on. baaaarrrrrf

    Please, purty, purty please jot down the recipe for the pumpkin butter. It sounds so good.

    Your feral kitty looks much better fed than those that hang around our shop. He is quite handsome.

    I hope you are feeling well enough that you will soon be able to enjoy your other ‘wildlife’ 😉

    betme- I KNOW!! I read that Baby Wipes are just as efficient at killing germs on surfaces as some of the more expensive wipes. I plan on traveling everywhere with them from her on out!

    I am currently not feeling well but I am being good and giving myself today to get better.

    As for the pumpkin butter recipe…well I kinda sorta winged it but basically it was this:

    Approx. 8 cups pureed pumpkin
    2 generous tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice ( cinnamon, cloves, ginger, allspice, nutmeg)
    2 1/2 cups light brown sugar
    1 cup apple juice
    zest of 1 orange and 1 lemon
    1 teaspoon salt
    Cook slowly over med/low heat till nice and thick. I cooked mine extra slow for almost 1 1/2 hours.
    Stir in 1 1/2 cups toasted chopped pecans.
    Ladle into jars and refrigerate. Will keep for about three weeks refrigerated.

  14. Moui Grats (many thanks) I decided that I don’t speak any foreign languages proficiently so I am making up my very own dialect.

    I am going to try out a small batch this weekend and will let you know how it turns out.

    betme- hheeeehee! I like your language. I speak that, as well, so when I say, tu ist danada, you’ll understad that I mean “you’re welcome’!
    Yes, let me know how it turns out. I think I remembered everything.
    😳

  15. Trisha, those are adorable kitties! And where in the world do you live that is so f’ing awesome! We have a cabin up in the Mississippi/Arkansas area and get lots of deer, boar, rabbits, squirrel, and things of that sort, but we don’t make preserves. On account hubbie doesn’t cook and I’m too stupid to read recipies.

    allison- I live in Northeast PA about as far north and east as one can go and still be in PA. It’s very rural even though we’re close to Scranton.
    You don’t sound stupid to me, allison! I bet you could follow a recipe but maybe the motivation isn’t there. Once you start cooking for your hubby there’s no end to the things he’ll come to expect. Better to keep things the way they are, no?
    😆

  16. Also, i hope you feel better. Sorry, but you see what pumpkin butter does to me? Seriously.

    c.- Aww, you’re sweet! I know how you feel about the pumpkin butter. I can hear it calling me from way inside the refrigerator …”eat me…EAT me !” I. MUST. RESIST.

  17. Mmmm …pumpkin butter.

    Bleccchhhh … now I’ll want to go grocery shopping in a HAZMAT suit. Then again, despite having absolutely NO immune system left and working in a doctor’s office around sick people all the time, I haven’t dropped dead yet, so there you go.

    I think there’s truth in the tequila remedy.

    Love those kitty pictures! More, please 🙂

    lupusranting- how do you do that? I can’t imagine it! All those germs and you with Lupus? Amazing!
    Yes, Tequila works. So does wine if you drink enough of it.

  18. are you better? 😉

    kaylee- yes, thanks. I’m still sniffing but I feel good.
    How are you holding up, kiddo? Surgery this week, eh? My prayers are with you.
    Huge hugs,
    T

Leave a Reply

