Randomness

  I was wandering randomly around the blog sites today to see if there was someone I could really connect with. I hit the arrow at the top right-hand side of my screen and it sends me off to a new page, a new person’s or organization’s blog. Sometimes, not often, I get lucky and find a gem! But more often than not I know within a few sentences it’s not a good fit for me.

   Here are a few examples of sentences I’ve read on random blog sites that told me I need read no further:  (Please bear in mind that this is about me finding something or someone I fit with. It is not intended as criticism of the content or the writer! I laugh just the same.)

Sometimes I have NO IDEA what the meaning behind the words is:

   The  “proposed solution is to explicitly implement everything in a program, preferably a functional program, so that the fuzziness is exorcised.”

or this:

    “14.Now you combine a O berry with the hot sauce and the puffle goes red and goes hyper and makes a hole through the snow”

 Then there are those sentences which just boggle the mind. I’m sure the author knows what they’re trying to say but  my brain seizes up when I read this:

 I had a girlfriend then, who wasn’t over her ex-girlfriend for 5 years. When my girlfriend then learned that her ex-girlfriend is now my friend’s girlfriend, she couldn’t accept it.

  Then there’s the WTF entry:

  A car door slammed behind him. In the white noise deafness of that grey downpour, the engine roared to life like nothing else. It shuddered and the car rumbled down along the pure-black, down avenues, down boulevards, like nothing else in the discomfort of that wilderness.

 The rain dropped like hen’s eggs from windows, like brass or bullets in the morning.

 

  We have the drunken blog entry which I personally  get a kick out of:

Lov am so fuckin drunk but omg I have llots of stoeies to tell you lol my life’s full of crazy hookups. hahah okay so tmw afternoonl, i will wirte a real entry. full of good stuff enjoy!! even if muscles can;t decide right now..desn;’t stop me from ahvin ood tiems!! lol tell ou soon!!!

 I LOVED this one:  ( I still giggle every time I read it!)

“I was watching inconvenient truth the other day and theres the bit where it shows the sea level rising really high and flooding most of the world. Well i live near the sea, and don’t want to drown, so i got to thinking. Maybe if we lower the sea level a bit, when the water level rises then it won’t rise high enough to flood.

Anyway, heres the plan. Everyone who can should take a bucket of sea water and pour it down the sink. If lots of people put the effort in, we could lower the sea level substantially and create a better world for our children to live.”

 And this one; the author ends with a quote which completely disputes her (il)logic:

“I enjoy all the frills of being a woman. I mostly enjoy the poofy dresses, wearing flowers in my hair, being given a boys oversized jacket when I get cold and getting to go first in line for carrot cake. ☺ But, mostly the thing I love about being a woman is knowing that I deserve respect simply because I exist.”

Is not general incivility the very essence of love?

– Jane Austen

  Happy random reading!      —→

Trisha

6 comments on “Randomness

  1. The random blog button is one crazy rabbit hole. Now I’m off to flush some salt water.

    Evyl- hey, ya do your part. That’s what makes this crazy interweb thing so “special”. All of us pulling together. Yep.

  2. Wow makes you really wonder if some of these ppl ate paint chips as a kid or how many times they were dropped on their heads lol.

    sunnymom- Bwahahaha!!!!! That would indeed explain so much!!!!

  3. Those were great, especially the last two! I wonder if the lady with the Jane Austen quote was aware of the irony? I’m thinking probably not, unless you left her a comment!

    Then the things like the sea water comment… Was that person trying to be funny or no? I want to go read that blog just to have that question answered.

    Great finds, Trisha! 😆

    birdpress- Why thank you, dahling! Glad you enjoyed them. I thought you might! 😉
    I don’t think “Sea water lady” was intentionally trying to be funny. That’s what made it so great, her naivety!
    No, I didn’t leave any comments because I didn’t want them to track back to this blog and feel bad. I wouldn’t want to hurt feelings.

    I will say I was shocked at the poor spelling and grammar and lack of punctuation in so many of the blogs I read. Not that I’m great all the time on that count but some of it was really bad!

  4. Hey Trisha, thanks for the comment you left at my place. And thanks for visiting.

    Yeah I’m with sunnymom, how many times were they dropped on their heads??? And have they never heard of dictionaries for the real meaning of words and spellcheck on their blogs…… now there’s a novel idea. Spellcheck.!!!!!!

    Catch ya soon 🙂

    Gemisht- hey, girl!! Nice to see you over here!
    Nah, most folks don’t seem to be as bothered as we do at the lack of quality in their writing. It’s a shame I tell you!! Does anyone use the spellcheck , Wikipedia, or various other tools at our disposal? Only the rare few with standards!! LOL
    I’ll be checking in on you often! You are a hard act to follow!

  5. I might not be the best writer but at least I try to spell correctly. I always write my posts in word doc then copy over to my site so that I can run spellcheck.

Leave a Reply

