More Stink

It was bad enough that I had a bad case of flatulence a couple of days ago but then this afternoon I was downstairs in the cellar looking in the spare refrigerator for a bottle of rosé and I almost gagged from the stench emanating from inside. The last time I’d opened that door I smelled something “off” but after taking out the only perishable in there, a box of pie crusts, I figured that the problem was solved.

Oh, no, it was so much worse now! I looked  and looked for the culprit but couldn’t figure out what was causing the foul odor. I was just about ready to give up when I stooped down to check (again) the empty veggie bins and that’s when I saw it: a Ziploc bag of cut up broccoli, carrots sticks, cauliflower, and cucumbers, tucked out of sight on the drawer beneath the wine. I picked it up and the bag was nearly bursting from the build up of gas in there. OMG! The stink of rotting broccoli and cauliflower!

 Case solved! I’d had company over for the weekend a couple of weeks ago and somehow had completely forgotten those veggies were there. Yuck!! So I started wondering what it is about rotten cauliflower that makes it smells so bad. Here’s what I found out over at LiveScience.com:

Fragrant flatulence comes from colonies of bacteria shacked up inside our lower intestinal tract (which is why it can take hours for gas to kick in after a meal). In the process of converting our meals into useful nutrients, these food-munching microbes produce a smelly by-product of hydrogen sulfide gas—the same stench that emanates from rotten eggs.

 The biggest gas-producing generators are sugars and cauliflower contains a sugar called raffinose.

  • Raffinose – The secret gassy ingredient in beans, which is also found in broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, asparagus and other vegetables. Products like Beano, designed to reduce gas production, break down the sugar before it can reach eager intestinal bacteria.
  •  

    Ironically, I also found out that hydrogen sulfide is sometimes released during the drilling for natural gas. See my post about the Marcellus Shale Formation in NE Pennsylvania.

    Weird how things blend one into another, isn’t it? 

    I can tell you that after eating my share of raw veggies that the amount of hydrogen sulfide I produce can be deadly!! Natural gas!! Yeah, that’s right!

     

     

     

     

    5 comments on “More Stink

    1. Oh, broccoli get NASTY when you leave it in a plastic bag to steep in its own juices O_O

      Be afraid … be very afraid

      😉

      gadfly- “Afraid” is RIGHT! I normally compost all the organic goodies left behind in my kitchen but this was so foul I was actually afraid to open the bag!! 😆

    Leave a Reply

    