Good bye, Old Friend

  My old friend George Carlin died yesterday at the age of 71 of  heart failure.

I never met him but I feel as though I’ve lost a friend. This foul-mouthed, irascible, brilliant funny-man made me laugh for more years than I care to count. My favorite character was the Hippy-Dippy Weatherman on Saturday Night Live waaaaay back when.

 Keep ’em laughing whereever you are, George. I hope to meet up with you someday.

8 comments on “Good bye, Old Friend

  1. I really enjoyed him and I’m sorry to see him leave this rock. I have many fond memories of watching him on television and doing his standup. My sisters and I loved him. So sad.

    teenie- my earlier comment made no sense. sorry. I was trying to multitask! At my age that can be really stupid. 😕

  2. Yes, he was pretty cool. J even has one of his books somewhere around here. Amazing how many different kinds of people could relate to his humor.

    Yeah, that was part of his genius. He talked about the everyday stuff, things we all could relate too, and he made us laugh about it. He cursed like a sailor but his curmugeonly (sp?) attitude fit him.

  3. His legacy will live on. My favorite bits were from the 70’s. I loved his take on doing newscasts. My fave: The Elderly Lesbian Home is sponsering their annual Tits for Tots Campaign. It just doesn’t get any funnier than that in my opinion.

    He was brilliant! I loved when he talked about “stuff”. He said we get so much “stuff” we run out of places to store our “stuff” so we have to buy bigger homes to store our “stuff” and on and on. He cracked me up.

  4. He was actually my hero at a very young age. He was fearless in an age when it was prudent to have a bit of fear.

    I agree! Well said, my friend!

  5. I’ve loved him for years. I’d forgotten all about The Hippy Dippy Weatherman. He was the best and so young.

    Joan- did you ever see him do “The 7 Things You Can’t Say on TV” routine? OMG! Funny!!!!And Hippy Dippy Weatherman saying “tonight will be dark…followed by ..light!” I love it!

  6. LOL. No worries, Trisha. I do that stuff all the time and sometimes I can’t even blame it on multitasking. 😯 🙂

    teeni- it’s multitasking, I tell ya! And I’m sticking with that!! 😛

Leave a Reply

