Six Words About Me

 Darn! I thought I was going to bed but I just found out that my darling son, over at Postulates and Pasttimes has tagged me for a meme.  It would seem that I must follow some rules for this one. You all know how much I just LOVE rules!

  • Write a six-word memoir.
  • Post it to your blog including a visual illustration if you would like.
  • Link to the person who tagged you in your post and to this original postif possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogsphere .
  • Tag 5 more blogs with links .
  • Don’t forget to leave a comment in the tagged blogs with an invitation to play.

This is harder than I thought and my poor brain is sooo tired.

Six words for all 54 years of this crazy life, huh?

“She refused to follow the recipe”.

There. I almost wrote “She failed to follow the recipe” but that would imply that I actually tried. I never wanted to. Teaching cooking classes all those years made me realize there are two kinds of people: the ones who follow ALL the rules. These are the people who dutifully measure ingredients and never, ever substitute! And then there are people for whom recipes are simply guideposts. We like to find a path slightly different from all the rest while still arriving at our destinations.

OK, and now I tag:

2lazydogs

anja

disismyplace

javaqueen

mentalfloss

Have fun, children!

 

 

 

11 comments on “Six Words About Me

  1. I didn’t know you taught cooking classes.That’s neat. I love cooking. I never stick to a recipe. If you look in my 200 cookbooks you’ll see all the changes I make to each recipe. My dad was the same way. My mom couldn’t even follow a recipe without burning supper that’s why my dad did all the cooking.

    joan- I think maybe your mother was a very smart cookie!!! LOL

  2. I love your six words. Very nice and I didn’t know about your cooking classes either. It’s so neat to find things out about my buddies. 🙂

    Hi, teeni! Oh, I’m just full of shit surprises! Thanks, you sweet thang!

  3. Oh wow! I love that sentence. It is so fitting.

    red- Thank you! It really fits like a glove! (I’m thinking elbow-length, black, silk,with the fingers cut out, and a black corset……oh, sorry! )

  4. OH MY GOSH, wonderful! So true. I always use to measure everything out in the proper cup or spoon… even for making Kraft Mac-n-cheese, then I went over to the SIL’s house and she just poured milk right in and I was like, “Um, you don’t MEASURE???” and she said, “I don’t need to dirty a measuring cup to “eyeball” something.” It forever changed me. I am that way though. I really do have the ability to change my ways when they are silly. Or, if they seem silly to me after seeing someone else manage a different way. So, I went from the anal retentive precise follower, to the care free a “pinch of this” a “dab of that” – – however, I will NOT substitute ingredients. I will have them all before I begin a project. For example, I will not use mayo as I substitute for an egg , etc. My mother does that shit and I always wonder what’s in the cake I’m eating???!!! LOL — I will bother a neighbor before I sway from the ingredients- ha! ha! ha! I feel so complex all of a sudden. You came up with a real doozy here- great meme!

    I just keep re-reading your description and it’s fucking brilliant; perfectly suits you! WOW!

    JQ- glad you got your anal retentive problems worked out there! 😛 Oh, and give yourself some time; you’ll be like Mom soon, substituting shit, too! LOL
    Thanks, darlin’!!!

  5. Pingback: Six Word Memoir Meme «

  6. I love your six words! I will attempt to knock this out this afternoon.

    I have 50-60 cook books, but tend to use them only for ideas. I don’t think any dish I cook is ever made the same way twice. Is it an Italian thing or maybe and old school method of cooking.

    betme- Thanks! The irony of this whole meme is that I was only using cooking as a metaphor but I seem not to have conveyed that idea very well. Oh, well…. 😕

  7. Wow, that was perfect for you! So true. You never were one to follow a recipe, literally or figuratively speaking!

    J follows recipes down to the drop. I mean in the literal, food recipe sense. He’s gotten a little better, after making the same recipe a few times, but then the things he changes aren’t always things that I would change, but hey, at least he’s trying!

    Leave it to you, birdpress, to GET IT!! Thanks, love. You always did get me. 🙂 As for Josh…when he gains more confidence as a cook he’ll start to improvise more. Give him time…and poor you, you suffer because you have to share the stove ! LMAO! I never had that problem with your father, did I?

  8. Love your six words, girl! And thanks for tagging me..but, shit, now I will have to put my damn thinking cap on.

    We have SO many things in common. In my 101 things about me I said “I love to cook but refuse to measure ingredients”. Ha! No rules for me, thank you. I don’t like to follow them, and often like to break them. (Shhhh, we won’t tell anyone.)

    Have a great weekend!

    We do indeed have SO much in common! Breaking the rules is so much more fun that following along like good girls! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  9. Following things to the letter is boring. Great job here. I just finished screwing up this meme. Mine is slightly different. I couldn’t even follow the rules of the meme.

    Au contraire, Monsieur Evyl! You did a BRILLIANT job on that meme!

  10. Pingback: Six Word Memoir Meme « Two Lazy Dogs

Leave a Reply

