Just Please Be Quiet!

  I just came back with D. after sitting in his accountant’s waiting room while D. was getting his tax returns prepared. There was a man sitting to my right who immediately started chatting with me. He seemed at first to just be one of those extra-friendly sorts but after a couple of minutes of him rambling on and on ad nauseum about his brilliant and oh-so-successful son I started to shut down. I mean, there’s only so much chitchat I’m willing to put up with from bores. So I picked up a nearby magazine, a four-year-old copy of Family Circle (EGADS!) and started thumbing through it.

This didn’t slow him down. Not at all!  If anything it seemed to challenge him to even greater flights of rhetoric and so he started leaning in towards me in order to get more of my attention.  “Have you heard about Bush vetoing the next tax rebate?” he says. I pretend to think he’s talking to someone else and I don’t look up or respond. He moved one seat closer to me!
“Guess what I’m doing with my money this year? It’s really driving my wife up the wall. She says’ why do you have to do that’ but I am gonna do it any way.”  No response from me. I won’t even look up from the scintillating article on “Seven Secret Tips from the Stars on Ways They Keep Fit”.  He says “I am giving all my tax refund money to my grandchildren’s college funds! Yep, that’s me. I am one generous grandpa!”

 It’s driving him crazy that I am refusing to respond to him. He gets up and adjusts himself  !! He then turns his back to me and bends over to tie his shoes! He sits back down and he starts in once again. I finally had had enough so as soon as he said ” Did I tell you about my crazy wife? She moves my stuff around…” I leaned in towards him, put my finger to my lips and said  “SHHHHHhhhh!”

 I leaned back in my seat and for about 30 seconds there was a blissful silence as I went back to my magazine.

 But he was a tough old bugger. He stood up, walked down the hall, entered the room where D. and his accountant were working and started chatting with the CPA!

  I think I’m declaring a day of silence. The sound of my own voice is even getting on my nerves now…

17 comments on “Just Please Be Quiet!

  1. Wow, that is great. I would never, in a million years have the guts to do that. Good for you for sticking up for yourself. He was invading your space and you weren’t having any of it – I’m taking note girl! You are one tough cookie 😉

  2. A simple gesture, but quite bold, and pleasingly effective. I don’t think I could have done that. I’m way too nice, even at the expense of my own sanity. You’ve inspired me, but I’m not sure if it’s enough to actually make me take action. We shall see.

  3. Hopefully his wife uses a hearing aid and takes it out when he’s around. I think If that had happened to me I would have pointed to my ears and made some kind of a sign to make him think I was deaf.

  4. Peter Parkour- you CAN do and I encourage you to do so. Life is too short to tolerate boors or bores!! (yes, you ARE very sweet, aren’t you? I’ve seen those Daily Pics, my friend..)

    Birdpress- It was blissful! I never was so bold until recently but I honestly couldn’t take him another minute!

    Joanharvest- Ah, he probably would have started shouting instead!!

    purefnevyl- You read me like a book!!

  5. Spidey, what I meant was …oh, hell, man! You are nice! (slightly perverted, but very sweet. That’s what I love about ya!)

    I, on the other hand ….well…. Am I the only old, pissy person around these here parts? ….. help me……

  6. i think all human beings should be given one free go at another with a weapon of their choice.
    but of course, that would mean I’d have died years ago.

  7. hahaha! I think you are my soul sister.

    I like to stare blankly at them, shrug my shoulders and say, “no hablo inglés.”

    Actually, I have learned to say I don’t speak english in 4 different languages now. hehehe

  8. aniche- one free go? I’d have to slap more than one! And yeah, I’d have been taken out and spanked long ago!

    betme- I need to know how to say it in French, Russian, Gaelic, and Yiddish. And I love the “shrug”. Makes it so much more effective!! Great idea!

  9. Hmmmm…his wife is the crazy one?

    Poor CPA…As an accountant, April 12th really isn’t the day you want to have long drawn-out conversations about somebody’s “crazy” wife and the mind tricks one plays on her.

  10. Allison- Thanks for dropping in! Yeah, I felt sorry for the poor woman who’s desk was right there in that area. She was having trouble getting work done because of this moron! I don’t think …no, I KNOW, I couldn’t do that work with people like him near me!
    Are ya glad tax time is OVER??
    😀

Leave a Reply

