Sunday Ramble

chickadee.jpgdeer_does_50964_7.jpgdeer_does_50964_7.jpgturkeys.jpg    It  finally warmed up by mid-afternoon today. I met some friends for lunch in town at 1 o’clock and by 3:30 I was zipping my way  home to get out of those dress pants and heels and into some sweats.      I called D. quickly to let him know I had gotten home but we didn’t chat as long as we normally do because I could feel the day slipping away and I really wanted to be outside. I would rather be outdoors than indoors almost anytime except when the temperature drops below freezing with the wind blowing. I can’t take the cold. I hate it. Probably because I grew up in Central Florida. I am a sun-worshipping, heat-seeking fool!

     I  set out at around 3:45 heading south and walked my regular 2.5 miles but feeling good I decided to go a little farther today. I walked another mile and then turned around to head home ONLY because I needed to pee! I had one tiny scrap of Kleenex and nowhere to use it.

     Along the way I passed three rabbits, spooked four whitetail deer and one tom turkey. I saw flocks and flocks of birds: crows, robins, red-winged blackbirds, tons of chickadees, all singing and chirping that wonderful , raucus springtime birdsong that is such music to my ears. I walked with my head up, my back straight and breathed deeply of the clean Pennsylvania country air.

     The ditches were flowing with the spring meltdown and runoff so I heard the gurgling of water as it trickled around tree roots and over rocks. Tiny buds were swelling on the white birch trees and the hayfields were showing definite signs of green.

      Six-plus miles of amazing country scenery, all free to anyone who wanted it! I am so lucky to live in such a beautiful place.

     It was a glorious day to be alive!

10 comments on “Sunday Ramble

  1. I’m always on the lookout for critters as I drive along. Sounds like a wonderful place you’re walking in. I so wish I was driving an RV instead of a diesel. I constantly see places I’d love to get out and walk around, but no such luck. All work, no play. Nice post. I’m so jealous. 😉

  2. Well if you and the missus are ever driving around NE Penn. and need a place to R & R be sure and look me up. Lots of room for two weary truckers to lay their tired bodies down AND I am a pretty good cook. How would you like your eggs this morning, Mr. Parkour? Ms. Parkour?
    Bring your walking shoes and and lets go!!

  3. Hi!
    I am happy that you stopped by my blog. I have been reading some of your posts and your wasband doesn’t sound like a good wasband. I guess I am very fortunate. When we got divorced 20 years ago we had an 8 year old son and a 10 year old daughter. He said all he wanted was his car and the stereo. I could have the house because I needed it more.

    Like you I love nature. I feed the birds and am seeing a woodpecker, mourning doves, goldfinch, chickadees, a song sparrow, titmouse, a pair of cardinals and a pair of mallards. We also have a pair of red shouldered hawks nesting in our backyard. We have a vernal pool in our backyard which attracts a lot of wildlife and no one can ever build there because on Cape Cod vernal pools are protected.

    I’ll be back. I have enjoyed reading some of your posts this morning. I am fortunate with my daughter, she encourages me to get out there and be the person I want to be. I am disabled because of severe arthritis in my knees and back which is why she and her husband decided to come move in with me a year ago. I do all the cooking because I love to cook and other than that I am free to do whatever I want. When she moved in I was a depressed, fat, couch potato. I have spent the last year changing my life which includes Zoloft, therapy, weight watchers and Al Anon (my son is a recovering heroin/coke addict).

    I’d better stop, I tend to go on and on.

  4. joanharvest- you sound like a woman I need to get to know better. We have a lot in common i.e. depression, addictions, etc.
    Let’s keep in touch!

    betme- Well, thank ya, my darlin’! YES! Pleez come here and hike with me! No one else is crazy enough or funny enough for me to want to spend that much time with! (other than my guy, D. of course but he’s currently tied up…. well, not literally,, well, not till we switch anyway, lol!)

  5. Oh, beautifully written – makes me wish I were along for the walk, although, that’s a lotsa miles for Lumpy. I need to work my way up to that; baby steps.

    Sounds magnificent there!

  6. Could I possiblely be any slower to respond to such an amazing offer?

    🙂 I like my eggs scrambled. Mrs. Parkour likes her’s sunny side up and runny (YUCK!!!) with a tortilla is available.

    I’ll definitely keep the offer in mind if we are ever in your neck of the woods with a little time on our hands. You are such a sweetie. 😉

Leave a Reply

