Letter To Me

Optical Illusion: Young girl or old woman?young_or_old.jpg      

 I was listening to the local country music station in my car today and Brad Paisley’s “Letter to Me” came on. It made me start thinking about what I would say to myself if I could write my young self a letter and send it back in time.

 Brad Paisley sang:

And I’d end by saying have no fear
These are nowhere near the best years of your life.
I guess I’ll see you in the mirror
When you’re a grown man
P.S. go hug Aunt Rita every chance you can.
Chorus:
And oh, you got so much going for you, going right
But I know at 17, it’s hard to see past Friday night
I wish you’d study Spanish
I wish you’d take a typing class
I wish you wouldn’t worry, let it be
I’d say have a little faith, and you’ll see.
If I could write a letter to me, to me…”    

 What would I write?      I agree with Brad; I should have taken Spanish and Typing back in school.    I would definitely tell myself to not worry so much.

    I would tell myself that I was really not that fat. I only thought I was. All that wasted time dieting and thinking I was ugly. What a shame. Ten or fifteen extra pounds don’t matter at all in the big picture.

    Hey, Me!  DO NOT BUY those yellow pants!! You looked ridiculous!!! AAggh… I can’t believe you liked them…

    I would say to me “smile more” and “laugh a lot more!” Even when it doesn’t seem to be funny, later on you’ll think it was!!

   Go to the dentist. Get your teeth cleaned!! It matters. Oh, and floss!

   I would remind myself how important it is to be a generous person and how little it costs to give to others who need it, whether it’s money they need or the loan of a car, or a place to sleep for a while.

     Listen up, Me. No perms. EVER!!!

   I would surely write that taking care of my health is important and to watch out for those medicines I thought would help but later on carry a heavy cost physically. (Like that Prednisone I took for over a year many years ago.)

    I wish I could say to young me “Every time you go shopping without a purpose other than entertainment, you spend money that would, if saved, make a nice retirement fund instead. Dummy!! (Smack myself on the head.)

   I would say how important it is to spend time cuddling my children. I so wish I had done more of that, even though I was hugging them like crazy all the time.  It drove them nuts when they got to be teenagers but now I wish I hadn’t bothered to let that change things.

  Listen, Me, do your Kegels!!!

   And most of all I would tell myself to stay strong, that I could somehow be the mother I needed to be. My young self never felt she could do what needed to be done and it caused so much hurt. It’s the biggest regret of my life that I didn’t think I could handle being a single mother to two young sons without an  education and with no family. I wish I had said “tough it out”. 

So what would you write in a letter to yourself if you could?


 

12 comments on “Letter To Me

  1. Ooooh, some very good thoughts. Is there a story behind the “No perms” comment? I will try and do this, but right now the only thing I want to tell myself is; STEP AWAY from the puter and get some fresh air.

    Have a wonderful weekend. Mine starts right now!

  2. Great post. I think I might have to do a similar one in the near future, if I can ever get out of this no writing slump I’m in.

    One thing I would have told myself for sure would be not to quite my job at the prison. I should have stuck it out and not have given into the stress and pressure.

    OH! And I would have to me to marry my wife sooner. :mrgreen:

  3. Good thoughts. About your biggest regret… Did anything good come out of that decision? No regrets, lady. Things happen for a reason.

  4. Peter Parkour-
    Ah, a true romantic. I love that you would have married your wife sooner. When did you two meet and how long before someone popped the proverbial question?

    Birdpress-
    Good question, that one. “Did anything good come out of that decision?”
    As a matter of fact, the answer is complicated. I was reunited with my sons after 25 years and I have a terrific relationship with one and a wobbly one with the other. I feel blessed to have them in my life again, no matter what.
    I’m working on the “no regrets” thing. Thanks for your words. It helps.

  5. Betme-
    My mother insisted on giving me a perm every year right before school started while I was in elementary school. I was a frizz head every September for years! I can still smell that smell! Yuck!
    I also made a rash decision back in the late 70s to get a so-called “spiral perm”. Boy, did I look stupid.
    NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN!

  6. ha ha ha… my mom wouldn’t let me get a perm. I was the kiddo with long straight hair and no bangs, 2 days before 5th grade photos I cut my own bangs. Bad move…
    it’s so funny to think of all the things i would go back and change, but the things i think of right off the bat would have set my life in such a different path from what I’m on now.
    The one thing that I know I would change…if I knew in high school that I couldn’t get pregnant…I think I’d been a lot more promiscuous. OK maybe not, but it sure sounds like a lot more fun.

  7. Yeah, I came of age in the “Free Love” era. And yeah, it WAS fun. Lotta good that did me. I DID get preggers!
    I think I’m acting out my “yute” now that it’s safer to do so.

  8. No regrets mom. This kind of thinking can drive you mad. Would I be where I am had things not happened as they did? Most certainly not. I love my family (even my extended “bio-fam!”) and wouldn’t change a thing about my life now.

    …except maybe the back pain 🙂

  9. Thank you, Dobeman. I needed that comment tonight more than you know.
    I hope you feel better soon. It’s not fair that you have so much pain at so young an age. I wish there was something I could do.

  10. Great post! As my mom says, “You can’t change history.” You just have to make the most of what you have right now.

    But yeah, I would have engaged in a lot more “free love,” had I known how amazing it was. Youth is wasted on the young.

  11. Thanks, Moonbeam!

    Oh, it was grand, all that “free love” but a bit of a misnomer.
    Sometimes the cost was very high.
    Still and all……. ; )

    And Mom was wrong: see? “her-story”
    (how corny was that?)

  12. Pingback: Letter to Me « twisted therapy

Leave a Reply

